This week, I made some vanilla cake! Since I’m not an expert, I started off with a cake mix. I used the buttercream frosting of this recipe: https://preppykitchen.com/1448-2/

Here is the cake mix I used.

I made my batter according to the instructions, and it was very easy! I put parchment on the bottom on my two circular pans, pure the batter in, then baked them.

I let these cool, then I sliced off the top because I would have to layer the two cakes.

I was a little grossed out while making my buttercream because it is mostly just butter and icing sugar. I was ready to pipe the cake!

Since this was my first time, I got a little help from my sisters. She helped me do a coat all around, then we put it in the fridge to let the frosting harden. Then we took it out and patted it smooth with a paper towel. We then frosted the top, and it looked great!

This was a success! The only thing was that the frosting was way too sweet. Next time I will:

  1. Definitely make whipped frosting, which is much more delicious!
  2. Try to make sponge cake instead of a cake mix.

This was better than I expected, and I’ll be making another cake in the future!