This week, I made some butter chicken. This is the first cultural dish I’ll be making this Genius Hour.

To begin, I washed, then put little cuts in my chicken so my marinade would absorb better. I seasoned this with salt, chili powder, ginger and garlic paste, turmeric, and some cumin.

I took some tomatoes and cut them into 4. I didn’t slice then thin because I was going to blend them anyway.

Then, I took some onions, and cooked them until they were translucent with some salt.

I added the tomatoes, onions, some yogurt, cumin, and thai chilies.

I blended this mixture until smooth. Then, I added some orange food dye.

In a pan, I heated some oil, then I added some curry leaves.

I tossed in my chicken, covered it, and let it cook for 30 minutes.

After the chicken was cooked, I added my sauce, then let it reduce for 30 more minutes. I served this with some rice or garlic naan.

This was so flavorful! I felt so happy making a cultural dish for the first time. It tasted great with either rice or naan. Next time I will:

  1. Try adding some more seasoning
  2. Add some red food coloring to make it more vibrant

This was a success! I will definetily be making this again!