This week, I tried something more challenging. Here is the recipe to the ecalirs: https://preppykitchen.com/chocolate-eclairs/

First, I made my dough mixture. I mixed water, sugar, butter, and salt. Then I added my flour.

I moved the mixture to my electric mixer then added in 3 eggs.

I whisked my egg yolks with sugar, then added whipping cream. This immediatly became thick after I put this on the stove. Then, I put it in the fridge to cool.

While the custard was cooling, I piped my pastries. I made two cream puffs and 10 long sticks.

After I tookt these out of the oven, I let them cool then stuffed them with the custard. Then, I made my chocolate mixture and dipped them halfway. I let these cool in the fridge.

These were delicious! They had the perfect amount of cream and chocolate.

Overall, this was a success! The custard was creamy and sweet, and the chocolate added a slight bitterness. I was shocked because I needed to use 10 eggs for this recipe. For the custard, I needed 6 yolks, so with the whites, I’ll make some meringues. Next time I will:

  1. Make the custard first so it can cool while I make the dough
  2. Take the pastries out the oven faster, it was slightly burnt on the bottom

I will definitly be making these again!